Stopping to Think: Why Do I YouTube and Stream?

That’s probably a question you’ll never ask yourself everyday. Posting videos on YouTube and streaming is probably something people do on a whim. However, the fact of the matter is that I want to start being active in both. The problem lies not in my motivations or goals, but the methods I use to reach goals.

I may have acted hastily when I announced my stream announcements for this week. I was just so excited with my new PC that I couldn’t wait to take it for a spin. Now that I have had the time to stop and think, first I need to make one thing clear: I LOVE what I do right now, but it’s just not in the right places.

I have to first think about my focus. I’m not as good in FPS games like I was before, and even then, I was only just slightly above average. What games do I actually play on a fairly consistent basis nowadays? That’s Warframe, World of Warships, and a bunch of J-RPGs. Wait, did I just find a focus? Yes! RPG and MMO games. I have to separate both to put games like Tales of Zestiria and Final Fantasy Type-0 (HINT HINT) on the RPG list rather than the MMO list, but there’s Final Fantasy XIV which is an MMORPG.

Next year, another MMO is coming out that I have been itching to play: Blade and Soul. See? These genres are looking at me like “What the nobs are you thinking, streaming Call of Duty? You’re not good at those games anymore!” So pretty much, I’m gonna try and move the “brand” to something along these lines, though the occasional shooter footage may show up.

That’s it, but that’s only part of the issue. I’ll have to straighten out more kinks as I go, but at the very least, I want to update my project/games list:

  • Warframe
  • World of Warships
  • War Thunder (on release of Naval Module)
  • Mechwarrior Online
  • Blade and Soul
  • Tales of Zestiria
  • Final Fantasy Type-0 HD
  • Tales of Berseria (this’ll take a while)
  • Tales of Symphonia (PC remake ayyy)
  • Guilty Gear Xrd (because I can be hella free in FGs and not gief a f***)
  • Street Fighter V
  • Battlestations Midway/Pacific
  • Phantasy Star Online 2

There’s still A LOT, but outside of straightening the kinks, we gotta cut the chaff at some point.

Leave a Reply

